In memory of SHELL 77

Vectors to the Tanker
Author unknown

I’ve got troops in contact
Pinned down by the Tali
Made one more pass, way low on gas
“I need vectors for the tanker.”

Tonight my wounded warriors
Need medevac to Landstuhl.
A double A/R out of Kandahar
“I need vectors for the tanker.”

The Kims and their kin are at it again,
In far away Korea
We are looking tough, with my cell of Buffs
“I need vectors to the tanker.”

Earthquake, flood or famine
The world needs US aid
The air bridge is faster, to any disaster
“I need vectors to the tanker.”

NKAWTG!
We take pride in this expression.
Day or night, we fuel the fight.
“I need vectors to the tanker.”

A CSAR helo has been launched
A grim hunt for 3 survivors.
A burned patch is found, now hallowed ground.
“I need vectors to the tanker.”

Today a crew is coming home.
Boom stowed and bound for heaven.
They passed their gas, now haulin’ ass.
“I need vectors for the tanker.”

All SAC aircrews please stand by
This is GOD on “Guard.”
Lemay and I from up on high
“Are giving vectors to the tanker.”

http://campaign.customink.com/shell77
http://www.fairchild.af.mil/news/story.asp?id=123347615

Tech. Sgt. Herman Mackey III
Capt. Victoria A. Pinckney
Capt. Mark Tyler Voss
93rd Air Refueling Squadron, 92nd Air Refueling Wing
22nd Expeditionary Air Refueling Squadron, 376th Air Expeditionary Wing
KC-135R 63-8877

May 3, 2013, Chon-Aryk, Kyrgyzstan

Addendum: Captain Voss was a kitbuilder and EAA member, and his fellow EAA Chapter 79 members are doing something that is truly appropriate.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

